Style to Inspire // Iris Apfel

iris-apfel-2

Starting with the assumption that De gustibus non est disputandum and that style is a very personal subject,  I adore excessive, eclectic, unique, unconventional, stop-the-traffic, make-a-statement kind of style. I love people who dare, who aren’t afraid of showing off  their personality though clothing and accessories. And, even if I like a bcbg style from time to time, I find Olivia Palermo-Lauren Condrad-Blake Lively & co ordinary, dull and boring. Sorry folks. That said, you can easily understand why I love and adore Iris Apfel and why she’s one of my style icons. iris apfel home3

Iris Apfel1

“I dress for me. And my husband—if my husband doesn’t like it, I won’t wear it. Otherwise, if somebody else doesn’t like it, it’s their problem, not mine.” (source)

iris apfel3

iris apfel4

2008 Lighthouse International Light Years Gala

Iris Apfel

iris-apfel-3

iris-apfel-Livelovecreateinspire

iris-apfel-portrait_bruce-weber_

Born in 1921, she’s a businesswoman, interior designer, and fashion icon. She worked for Women’s Wear Daily and she took part to some restoration projects at the White House for presidents Truman, Eisenhower, Nixon, Kennedy, Johnson, Carter, Reagan, and Clinton.  At the age of 92, she was listed as one of the fifty best-dressed over 50s by the Guardian. (source)

I love the way she overdress herself, the colors, the amount of accessories and, of course, her huge signature glasses!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

